There was a bat in our bedroom!!

    This whole saga happened quite awhile ago ( I was actually 8 months preggo with Cooper) but my mother just reminded me of it tonight so I had to write about it, it is HILARIOUS!

   Ok so I know what your all thinking how could a bat in your bedroom be funny? well read on you’ll see why in a minute

   Let me set the scene for you: it is 2 o clock in the morning at the end of August so it is HOT, which means we had our bedroom door shut (this will turn out to be a bad decision later just wait) because the air conditioning was on.

   So it’s 2am and I am the only one awake surfing the web (actually I was on that dreading message board that no one talks about, hey I was young a dumb was) and all of a sudden out of the corner of my eye I see something fly by. Now I am totally not thinking bat I’m thinking more pregnancy related stroke or brain tumor you know that shiny happy stuff. Well then I see something fly across the ceiling and I realize holy shit were gonna die it’s a BAT!!!!

   It took me all of about 1/2 sec to throw myself under the covers and start trying (unsuccessfully) to wake my husband, after gently (read kicking) him awake and explaining there is a blood sucking vampire bat in our room I send the great white hunter to get it the F out!

So now comes the funny part are you ready?

MY HUSBAND SLEEPS IN THE BUFF

   I know gross right (let’s save it for another post) but the fact that he had to now save his wife, unborn babe, and 2 dogs who are huddled under the comforter no help at all!!! So he gets the brilliant idea to use the lid to our hamper to try and swat it down, did I mention the freaking door is shut so me and the dogs can’t get out? oh I did ok.

  So I hear him swatting and I hear the murderous bat flapping well all of a sudden it decided to fly behind our headboard right by my head, and all I’m thinking is oh my god it’s going to get caught in my hair, what if it has rabies? can you get a rabies shot when your pregnant? what if I turn into a vampire?

  Anyways so my husband finally swats the beast out of the air and onto, wait for it again…..

ME!!!!!!!

   All I hear is “Don’t move” yeah hun you really don’t have to worry about that. so he scoops the bat up in a t-shirt and takes it to the bedroom window. Now again he is butt naked trying to get a bat out of a window that faces out onto our street and just to top it off its right under a street light, good thing it was 2am or our elderly neighbors might have dropped dead in the driveway.

   So that is my bat story, it really is hysterical when I think of my husband jumping around swatting at a bat all while in his birthday suit, but let me tell you at the time it was the scariest thing EVER! I made sure he sealed this house up after this incident.

P.S. Cooper was born 2 days later, he was 21 days early I pretty sure I scared him right the heck out!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment